My trench

Tiziana Arnone
1 min readAug 11, 2019

free verse poem

https://bluethumb.com.au/janovics-benjamin/Artwork/mariana-trench

Since you died,

every night at six,

I prepare my trench

because I am alone

and I am scared of darkness.

I move my treadmill

in the living room,

close to your armchair

and I start walking

and I boost the speed

because

I want to run,

I want to run away,

I want to reach you.

So that I wear myself out

and stop thinking

when I will be with you

wherever you are now.

And I keep this sorrow for me,

I protect it,

in sweat and breathlessness,

because the grief of mothers

does not matter

to sons,

but a not-longer-existing love

can listen to it

and care for it.

Follow us on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook!

--

--

Tiziana Arnone

“I write what I couldn’t tell anyone”. writer. poet, observer. Relationship. Parenting. Personal Growth. Enchanted with life. Thin Skin/amazon.com